Flowers and Butterflies

On a healthy ecosystem.

Writer’s Note: We’ll be pausing Sylvan Sundays for the month of July to visit with family and enjoy county fairs. We’ll see you in August!

Patches of black-eyed Susans are glowing in the pasture. I found this individual as I put up new netting on Thursday, wading through tall grasses.

Several butterfly species flutter around the farm alongside friendly bugs and pollinators. It's always good to see them living in among the livestock, the flora and fauna working together for a healthy ecosystem.

Thanks for Reading!

And I hope you feel refreshed and rejuvenated for the week ahead with this moment preserved in picture and prose. Consider:

  • What wildlife are cropping up around you right now?

Share your answer and this newsletter with a friend who likes to garden.

If Sylvan Sundays was forwarded to you, welcome! Subscribe to receive this newsletter each week by clicking the button below.

This Week on the Farm

On Friday, we met up with fellow Shetland breeders from Ohio to trade rams. Our two-year-old ram, Elrond, went home with them, while we brought Hank home.

Because our small sheep trailer became unavailable suddenly, we brought Hank home in the back of our car.

This is reminiscent of five years ago when Jeff and I were dating. He'd just bought his car when I asked to borrow it for the State Fair.

At the Fair, I met Shetland breeders who had ewes for sale, so I visited their farm after the sheep show. There, I bought my first Shetland ewe.

It was unpractical to return to pick her up another day with a livestock trailer, so I put her in the back of Jeff’s new car.

I knew we were meant to be when he cleaned up the car afterwards. 🥰

Farm Shop

Check out our farm shop on Etsy, and you can download the GIF below for free so you can share whenever you’re surprised!

See you in August!