A New Place

On animals arriving.

"It is a curious thing," Skittles the Llama said, "landing in a new place. It does not look like my old home. Yet, it does not quite look like any new home I would have imagined for myself. For one thing, I was quite fond of the goats in the place I just left, and here, there are not many goats.

“Look at all these sheep! I’m back in the woods again—that’s pleasant. I like trees. Plenty of shade and protection from the wind. Even if having trees does mean lots of coyotes.

“Yet, I have no worries. I stand ready.”

Welcome to Sylvanmore, Skittles! We’re glad you’re here.🦙 

Thanks for Reading!

And I hope you feel refreshed and rejuvenated for the week ahead with this moment preserved in picture and prose. Consider:

  • How have you coped with entering strange places recently?

Share your answer and this newsletter with someone who has moved to a new place.

If Sylvan Sundays was forwarded to you, welcome! Subscribe to receive this newsletter each week by clicking the button below.

This Week on the Farm

Skittles arrived on Friday to help guard our small ruminant friends (sheep and goats). Meanwhile, several of our lambs will be moving from our farm to their new 4-H families over the next couple of weeks! We’re excited for them to begin their new adventures.

Here’s a snapshot of life in the pasture with the lambs:

Farm Shop

This week’s featured fleece is from Nyssa! Her soft wool contains flecks of black fiber amongst white and silver, great for a hand spinning project.

Check out her fleece and more in our Etsy shop!